About Us

The Old Colorado City Historical Society (OCCHS) 

In 1976 a group of citizens who recognized the historical significance and unique culture of Old Colorado City founded the Old Colorado City Historical Society. The Society seeks to maintain the memory of (1) early El Paso County - which included Teller County until 1901, (2) the original Colorado City  which existed from 1859 until 1917 - essentially between today's West 20th and 32d streets Colorado Avenue and south of Fountain Creek, including the Midland Area, and (3) the entire Colorado Springs Westside since annexation in 1917.

The All Volunteer (no paid staff) Society exists to encourage research, preserve, and keep alive the unique history, culture and spirit of West Side Colorado Springs through education of children and the community, through maintenance of the History Center at One South 24th Street Colorado Springs.


Roberta Hardy - President
Don Hansen - Vice President
Suzanne Schorsch - Treasurer
Sandy Hanzlian
Carolyn Hatch
Leo Knudson

Charter Members - Organized 1976, Incorporated 1980, Tax Exempt 1985

Kay Arnold, Lucille Damico, Margaret Bofenkamp, David Hughes, Sally Brawner, Flora Belle Hull, Vera Chambon, Barbara Keller, Bertha Chilcott, Agnes Johnson Loesch, Ralph Conner, Isabelle Mosley, Leon Young, Virginia Cox, Rebecca Hughes

Past Presidents